Doctors prescribe physical therapy for numerous types of car accident injuries, including soft tissue injuries, broken bones, fractures, and whiplash. However, physical therapy can be expensive. The insurance company for the at-fault driver should pay for your physical therapy, but you will likely have to file a claim for payment.
Receiving Physical Therapy After an Accident You Caused
If you caused a car accident, your liability car insurance does not cover your medical bills or physical therapy expenses. Unfortunately, that means you have to pay for physical therapy out of your pocket.
However, if you have health insurance, your health insurance might cover the physical therapy costs depending on the policy terms. Medicare and Medicaid might cover the cost of physical therapy for car accident injuries.
Importantly, if you purchased optional MedPay or Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage when you purchased your auto insurance policy, it might cover physical therapy. These no-fault insurance policies pay benefits regardless of who caused the accident.
Receiving Physical Therapy After a Car Accident That Was Not Your Fault
Texas requires drivers to purchase liability insurance coverage for car accidents. The liability insurance coverage pays accident victims damages when the driver causes a car accident.
The minimum amount of liability coverage Texas drivers must have for bodily injury is $30,000 ($60,000 per accident). If the other driver caused your car accident, you could file an insurance claim with the insurance provider.
However, you have the burden of proving the other driver was negligent. Negligence requires you to prove:
- The other driver owed you a legal duty to act responsibly to avoid causing an accident (Duty of Care).
- The other driver’s conduct fell short of what a reasonable person would have done in the same situation (Breach of Duty).
- The driver’s breach of duty was the proximate and direct cause of the accident and your injuries (Causation).
- You suffered harm and losses because of the other driver’s actions (Damages).
The insurance company might admit their driver caused the car crash and accept liability for your claim. However, even if you win the argument about liability, you might still face a battle to recover the cost of physical therapy.
The insurance adjuster could argue that the physical therapy was unnecessary or overpriced. If so, you might need additional medical opinions from a medical specialist to prove your injuries require physical therapy.
If the insurance company disputes liability, the next step would be to file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver who caused the crash. You would have to prove your case to a jury to recover compensation for physical therapy and other damages.
How Can an Austin Car Accident Lawyer Help Me Pay for Physical Therapy?
Gathering evidence and building a legal case against an at-fault driver can be time-consuming and expensive. The attorney handles the investigation when you hire an Austin car accident lawyer. The law firm investigates the car accident to gather evidence proving the other driver caused the crash.
Furthermore, personal injury lawyers document damages to calculate how much your claim is worth. The claim includes economic damages, such as physical therapy bills. However, it also includes non-economic damages for your pain and suffering.
If you sustained a permanent impairment or disability because of the car crash, you could receive future damages as well. These damages compensate you for anticipated costs of ongoing treatment, lost wages, and other losses.
Unfortunately, you do not receive money for your accident claim until you settle the case. It could take months after you complete treatment to reach a settlement.
Until then, you are responsible for paying the physical therapy bills. However, the sooner you speak with an Austin accident lawyer, the sooner you can begin the claims process to recover compensation for your car accident.
How Long Do I Have To File a Claim for Physical Therapy Bills After a Car Accident?
If you file a claim with your health insurance company or no-fault car insurance provider, the deadline to file a claim depends on the insurance policy’s terms. Most insurance policies require you to file timely claims to receive payment.
However, if you file a claim against the other driver, the filing deadline is typically two years after the car accident. Most car accident claims have a two-year statute of limitations in Texas.
Because there could be exceptions, it is best to speak with a lawyer as soon as possible. If you miss the deadline to file a car accident lawsuit, you lose your legal right to demand compensation for damages.
Contact Our Car Accident Law Firm in Austin, TX
If you’ve been injured in an accident in Austin and need legal help, contact our Austin car accident lawyers at FVF Law to schedule a free consultation with our team.
3101 Bee Caves Rd #301, Austin, TX 78746, United States